Casualty

Casualty is a song about love, but it is certainly not a “love song”. It’s a song about the prescribed ideas of love, oft sung of by the Taylor Swifts of the world, or ministered to the congregations of apt church goers! It is about a man, who’s expectations of love have been beaten, broken, and shattered. He is here to tell you what he knows, what he’s learned from the battles he’s fought and lost.

The song is written in the style of a weighty, musical theare, ballad.

 

Love is like a shadow
like an adder
like a spy
it can hide in anything
On a napkin, in a lie

Love cannot be good, it isn’t right, it isn’t bad
Like a thing you’ve found you’re missing
that you never knew you had

Love does not recognize your sex, your status, or your vows
It’s simply “Buddy, hey, your next!”
It will not hear you “why’s”, or ‘who’s”, or “how’s”

Love is like a dagger in a stranger’s pocket passing by,
Ah, but once you notice it,
They’ve already got your eye

Then it’s “Hi, how are-”
And, “What? Me too!”
Concidence as fate

Statistics do not lie
You have not found your mate
Just the next thing that you’ll hate

All because there was some “love”
in your poorly hidden glances
It’s not your fault, the stats don’t lie
You just lost for taking chances

Love is cold, not
hot, you know
colder than Pluto’s sunless snows
Because it leaves, it always leaves
So suddenly it goes
That it can take you years before either of you knows

It’s like an empty cradle
It’s like an unmarked grave
Nothing clearly fatal, yet some how so depraved
Will anyone be saved?
Will anyone be saved?

I am like a shadow
Like an adder
Like a spy
I can hide in anything
You’d never know if I passed by

For I too am a casualty
Wearing shrapnel near my heart
afraid that if it beat again
I’d die or fall apart

I am like a sparrow
Like an attic
Like a ghost
My pathway’s always narrow
My guards are at their post

I maintain with clear instruction
I’ve dodged, and hid, and passed
I whistle by each new destruction
Singing “It won’t be the last”

I’ve learned the truth
I lost the fight
Alone I stand here every night
Until the last window snuffs its light

Watching for the moment when love will come again
Fearing my own answer
When asked “Will you let me in?”

 

Leave a Reply

