Shameless

When did this happen

What have we done

Who is the culprit,

Ah, but everyone

What a shame,

When you lose someone

What to do

When there’s nothing to be done

Why am I the only one

Devastation by degree

Crippling poverty

Of spirit

You’ve grown accustomed to their screams

Or worse

you just

refuse

to hear it

Shame!

What a shame

When you lose your self

What to do

When there’s nothing to be done

Why am I still the only one

Desecration, look and see

Once again you’ve chosen novelty

For what

You don’t know-

you pay the fee,

how much for just a touch, I guess we’ll see

Your voice, your choice

in all honesty

I was so happy when I came

And you were young wild and strong

You pushed me down, I cut your cheek

I played the clown, you thought me chic

But when I got too rough

And you too weak

And I’d just had about enough of being seen as small and meek

I proved you weren’t so tough

You said “you freak”

I said “you reek”

I felt the thud

of blood

was pumping well above

it’s peak

And when you went to speak-

I said, my love, let’s help you turn the other cheek

(Slap)

And that was just last week

Leave a comment